Less Than 24 Hours

Is it really October already?  Has the 2007 regular season come and gone, or was what we witnessed just a dream, an opium hallucination of baseball euphoria?  While it may have been a pleasant trip into the ether or a nightmare spawned from the Prince of Darkness himself, depending on which team you root for, the baseball fan in you has to admit that this may have been the greatest regular season ever played.

And tomorrow, we head into the playoffs, where none of what happened between April and September matters.  Where anybody can be a hero or a goat, where the work of 162 games pays off or dries up, where you go home happy or you just go home.

2007 Postseason Schedule

With that, it’s time to make some picks, which I’m notoriously bad at.

Chicago and Arizona: Coming from the National League "Comedy Central," the Cubs didn’t have to be great to get here.  Sure, their offense has been spectacular these last few months, but it’s going to have to be better to get through Brandon Webb and the Diamondbacks.  Only thing working against Arizona is the youth; if they fold under the pressure of the playoffs, Chicago will roll over them.  Prediction:  Arizona in 4

New York and Cleveland: I don’t see why this one is such a toss-up.  The Yankees have been the hottest team in baseball since June, and while the Indians are a really good team, they just can’t out-muscle the Yanks.  Provided the pitching doesn’t implode or the starting rotation in particular succumb to the early stages of Alzheimer’s, the Yankees should make quick work of the Indians.  Prediction:  New York in 3  What I’d like to see:  The Yankees sweep Cleveland, with A-Rod going 15-for-15 with 15 home runs.  Then the Yankees facing the Angels in the ALCS, where they get swept, but A-Rod goes 20-for-20 with 20 home runs.  Then he opts out, and gives the finger to those who booed him in the Bronx last year.

Philadelphia and Colorado:  Get a coin.  Flip it.  Heads, the Rockies win in 5.  Tails, the Phillies win in 5.  That’s the best you can do to predict this one.  Both teams are running on adrenaline as well as talent, and both have earned their place in October because of outstanding Septembers.  Trying to predict a series that is fueled 90% by emotion is futile.  Might as well try to predict the winner of every NCAA football rivalry this year.  Yeah, I’d have taken USC over UCLA last year, too.  Result of Coin Flip:  Phillies in 5

Anaheim and Boston:  Yes, I said Anaheim.  Get over it.  No, I don’t have a problem with "Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim."  If Arte Moreno wants to call them the "Tokyo Angels of London by way of direct flight from Beijing with a stopover in Moscow" that’s his choice, so long as it helps sell merchandise and brings more money into the club and puts a better team on the field.  Yeah, I’m stalling.  I really don’t want to make this pick.  Boston is the better team, no doubt.  But since when does that matter?  Boston is also tired, having had to push their way through September, while the Angels have coasted through the last few weeks of the season, resting up.  But everybody else sais "Boston in 4," and I want to be one of the cool kids, too!  Prediction:  Angels in 4.  There, I said it.  Get over yourself, Red Sox Nation.  Your team is not the greatest thing to ever happen to America.  In fact, lose that Red Sox Nation ****.  You stole it from the Raiders, and their fans will snap your necks and eat your children.

OK, folks, here it is, my pathetic attempt at prognostication of the MLB postseason.  Be sure to stop by here next week to laugh at me.

6 comments

  1. J

    Angels in 4, eh? Well, I suppose as a fan, you have your right to hope for that.

    I would never have predicted Boston in 4, even with its numbers; that’s more than bold. It’s arrogant. But on the other hand, to quote you, I really can’t wish your team luck, can I?

    I’ll settle with a: Enjoy the series!

  2. Sid

    Predicting Anaheim in 3 would have been bold. Predicting Anaheim in 2 would have been arrogant.

    Considering that I’m the only person on the face of the Earth that predicted Anaheim at all, I have to scoff at any call of “arrogance.” I love my team. I’m not going to throw in the towel and concede defeat to the mighty mighty Red Sox even now, much less before the series has begun, as you Sox Fans seem to demand of everybody.

    In fact, why are we even playing this series? Shouldn’t the title just have been granted to Boston back in April and saved everybody a load of time?

    I hate the Red Sox. And many of their fans.

  3. J

    hm, very well, then. I’m sorry I said anything and I’ll leave you to your blogging. Enjoy your season next year.

  4. Sid

    Well, what do you expect? You come into my blog and call me “arrogant” because I made a GUESS that was more from the heart than the head.

    I will enjoy next year, because in order for a season to be successful, the Angels don’t have to win a World Series, and I don’t have an inferiority complex about the Yankees.

  5. J

    Actually, Sid, I was calling the my fellow Boston fans arrogant for saying “Boston in 4” because the diminishes the accomplishments of the Angels in getting into the play offs. I respect any team that wins a title or play-off berth, even the Yankees, although so reluctantly.

    Cool your heels. I don’t barge into other people’s blogs to call them names. All I was doing was reciprocating a visit you paid to my site.

  6. Sid

    Ah, J, my bad, dammit.

    I misread your post. Thank you for clearing it up!

    As it turns out, perhaps those Red Sox fans weren’t arrogant enough, eh?

    Sorry I misread and overreacted. I’ll try not to let it happen again!

Leave a Reply

